Review – The Heir (The Selection #4) by Kiera Cass

The Heir UKThe Heir by Kiera Cass
Publisher: HarperCollins Books for Children (5th May 2015)

Blurb:
Eighteen years ago, America Singer entered the Selection and won Prince Maxon’s heart. Now the time has come for Princess Eadlyn to hold a Selection of her own. Eadlyn doesn’t expect her Selection to be anything like her parents’ fairy-tale love story…but as the competition begins, she may discover that finding her own happily ever after isn’t as impossible as she’s always thought.

If you haven’t heard of The Selection series, it’s OK. At least you’ve probably seen it around in bookstores or online? The books with the girls in gorgeous dresses on the cover? No? Well, obviously you’re missing out. After devouring the first three books back-to-back, I can happily say that I’m a huge fan.

The Heir is the fourth book in the series and it’s set 20 years after the events of the last book. It follows the story of Eadlyn Schraeve, daughter of King Maxon and Queen America, who has grown up to be a beautiful, respected princess. Because she entered the world seven minutes before her twin brother, Ahren, she’s in line for the throne. Outside the palace walls, the people of Illéa are uprising, finding it difficult to adapt to the dissolution of the caste system. To distract the people and boost morale, the King decides to hold a Selection for her daughter, hence, the beginning of Eadlyn’s love story.

loved The Selection series. I was completely smitten by America and Maxon’s love story and I wished the same could be expected for Eadlyn. However, it was a much different Selection for the heiress. In The Heir, the tables have turned. It’s a princess undergoing the process of finding her true love. And love is a fickle mistress, isn’t it? Let’s talk about Princess Eadlyn, heir of the Illéa throne. She’s definitely got the traits of a princess – beautiful, poised and spoilt! Initially, it took a while for me to warm up to her but halfway through the book, she became more bearable and likeable. Well, not everyone can be as nice as Queen America.

Now, let’s talk about the boys. This is my favourite part! Princess Eadlyn is spoilt for choice as she is given 35 young men to choose from. Personally, I have a soft spot for Henri, a sweet and adorable aspiring chef who speaks limited English but has a smile like sunshine! OK, I’m biased, but I adore him. #Henlyn

And then there’s Kile Woodwork, the son of Marlee and Carter Woodwork, whose name has been mysteriously selected for the Selection. He’s known Eadlyn since they were both in diapers and they hate each other. What I loved about the two of them was their banter and how real Kile’s emotions and feelings towards Eadlyn were, which were unlike the other Selected men’s. #Kilyn I can say that there wasn’t much characterisation in The Heir as well because of there are 35 men. Not that I can blame Kiera Cass. However, if you’re one of those readers who have a long list of book boyfriends, then you’re spoilt for choice!

Yass Queen

Good news! There’s character development in Eadlyn! Yassss, towards the end of the book, she sheds her self-entitled princess crown and grows a heart like her parents. Well, of course, it took something extremely monumental for her to change but at least we don’t have to deal with a hissy fit in the next book! Hopefully.

Once again Kiera Cass delivers another spellbinding tale. Revisit Illéa and fall in love with Eadlyn’s story as she undergoes her very own Selection. Filled with adorable romance that will guarantee you the “feels”, don’t miss out on this enchanting addition to the series. Perfect for fans of Kiera Cass new and old.

I was sent a copy by HarperCollins UK in exchange for an honest review. Thank you! The Heir is now available on paperback and eBook.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s