Young Adult

Review – I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson

IGYTSI’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Walker Books (2nd Apr 2015)

Blurb:
Jude and her twin Noah were incredibly close – until a tragedy drove them apart, and now they are barely speaking. Then Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy as well as a captivating new mentor, both of whom may just need her as much as she needs them. What the twins don’t realize is that each of them has only half the story and if they can just find their way back to one another, they have a chance to remake their world.

When I started reading YA, I have come across Jandy Nelson’s The Sky Is Everywhere a few times and intrigued, I searched it and read numerous praises for it. Luckily for me, my sister still owed me a birthday present and she got it for me. Thanks, sis. Love you. However, Jandy Nelson’s latest book, I’ll Give You The Sun was sent to me for review by a local distributor and I couldn’t give this up!

I’ll Give You The Sun is a story the follows a pair of twins who are polar opposites of each other: the masterfully artistic Noah who paints portraits in his head with a colourful imagination and Jude, the daredevil between the two and firm believer of her grandma’s superstitious bible. Both of twin couldn’t be more different but they have been really close and in sync with each other’s thoughts through their “telepathic” link. However, a devastating tragedy tears their bond apart.

One of the most significant things that makes Jandy Nelson such a fantastic writer is her amazingly beautiful prose that will move you and touch your heart. It’s effortless and simply wonderful. With words, she makes you feel good and paints a stunningly vivid and colourful image in your head. I adored how the book explores the delicateness of gay relationships in Noah and Brian’s relationship. What started off as a budding friendship blossomed into a beautiful love story in glorious tecnicolour.

Jandy Nelson manages to weave an elaborate and intricate tale of two siblings with her signature flair for words that makes I’ll Give You The Sun equally uplifting and compelling. With a sweet and touching romance that underlines the plot, I’ll Give You The Sun is a treat for fans of John Green and Rainbow Rowell.

I’d like to thank Pansing for sending me a copy for review. I’ll Give You The Sun is out on paperback and eBook now. I’ve just bunked up The Sky Is Everywhere on my TBR pile! Eek.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Review – I’ll Give You The Sun by Jandy Nelson”

  1. This book looks so beautiful and I appreciate the focus on sibling love. I have a copy somewhere but I must push it up the TBR pile due to your comment on the beautiful proses :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s